History

The history of Augarten (“garden on the flood plain”) dates back to 1614 when Emperor Matthias had a small hunting lodge built on the previously unspoiled flood plain. During the following 150 years this private imperial hunting park was extended several times but was ravaged in 1683 during the Second Siege of Vienna.

In 1775 Emperor Joseph the Second opened the park to the public and the inscription on the entrance portal “Allen Menschen gewidmeter Erlustigungs-Ort von Ihrem Schaetzer” reminds everybody today of the emperor’s generosity to his people.  The emperor had the whole garden renovated, including the planting of 400 lime trees, the installation of 200 benches and the rehoming of hundreds of nightingales.  The emperor reserved one area of the park for personal use and had it fashioned in what was known as the “English” style.

The building in the middle of the park, known nowadays as Augarten Palace, is the former suite of concert rooms of Emperor Ferdinand the Third’s pleasure pavilion called Alte Favorita and where Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart and Ludwig van Beethoven conducted the famous morning concerts from 1782 and 1792 respectively.   The building was also used for balls, galas and sweepstakes and by the end of the 18th century had become a centre of fashion and culture.  This is where Johann Strauss the First, gave his May Day concerts from 1820 to 1848.  Following a period of disuse at the end of the 19th century, in 1923 the Viennese porcelain manufacturer Augarten commenced production of its “White Gold” in the former concert rooms.

 

DE | ENG
Site Notice | Data privacy

Geschichte

Die Geschichte des Augartens beginnt 1614, als Kaiser Matthias ein kleines Jagdschloss in der damals noch unberührten Aulandschaft erbauen lässt. In den nächsten 150 Jahren kommt es immer wieder zu Erweiterungen dieses privaten kaiserlichen Jagdgartens. 1683 wird die gesamte Anlage während der Türkenbelagerung verwüstet.

1775 macht Joseph II. den Augarten der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich. Daran erinnert heute noch am Eingangsportal die Inschrift "Allen Menschen gewidmeter Erlustigungs-Ort von Ihrem Schaetzer". Der Kaiser ließ den gesamten Garten renovieren, 400 Linden pflanzen, 200 Parkbänke aufstellen und hunderte Nachtigallen aussetzen. Zugleich behielt er sich einen Teil des Gartens zum eigenen Gebrauch, den er im Stil eines englischen Landschaftsgartens gestalten ließ.

Zentrum der Anlage ist das Saalgebäude, der Rest der ehemaligen Alten Favorita, ein auf Kaiser Ferdinand III. zurückgehendes kaiserliches Lustschloss, in dem die berühmten "Morgenkonzerte" stattfanden, wo ab 1782 musikalische Größen wie W.A. Mozart, L.v. Beethoven und später F. Schubert umjubelte Konzerte gaben. Hier wurden auch Bälle, Feste und Wettspiele veranstaltet. Damit wurde der Augarten im späten 18. Jahrhundert zum Modetreffpunkt und gesellschaftlichen Mittelpunkt. 1820 bis 1848 gab Johann Strauß Vater hier seine 1. Mai-Konzerte. Nachdem es Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts im Augarten ruhig geworden war, fand 1923 die Wiener Porzellanmanufaktur Augarten ihre Heimat im Saalgebäude und fertigt hier seit dieser Zeit das berühmte „Weiße Gold“ aus Wien.

 

DE | ENG
Impressum